Review: A Night Like This by Julia Quinn

A Night Like This (Smythe-Smith Quartet, #2A Night Like This by Julia Quinn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s no secret that I burned out on genre romance a long time ago, but I can’t resist a Julia Quinn novel. Anyone that has read her books will understand.

“Anne Wynter might not be who she says she is . . .”

But she’s managing quite well as a governess to three highborn young ladies. Her job can be a challenge–in a single week she finds herself hiding in a closet full of tubas, playing an evil queen in a play that might be a tragedy (or might be a comedy–no one is sure), and tending to the wounds of the oh-so-dashing Earl of Winstead. After years of dodging unwanted advances, he’s the first man who has truly tempted her, and it’s getting harder and harder to remind herself that a governess has no business flirting with a nobleman.

“Daniel Smythe-Smith Might be in mortal danger . . .”

But that’s not going to stop the young earl from falling in love. And when he spies a mysterious woman at his family’s annual musicale, he vows to pursue her, even if that means spending his days with a ten-year-old who thinks she’s a unicorn. But Daniel has an enemy, one who has vowed to see him dead. And when Anne is thrown into peril, he will stop at nothing to ensure their happy ending . . .

Quinn has a talent for writing humor matched by few and an ability to make you laugh, cry, rage and rejoice within the span of one novel. Anne and Daniel are superbly crafted characters and their story is as surprising as it is touching. Sure, it is a bit formulaic, but Julia Quinn uses her own cookie cutters when crafting a story and offers us a unique tale.

The secondary characters are well-developed and help carry the story along. Frances in particular reminded me a bit of the girl from Despicable Me; her fascination with unicorns is hilarious as well as life saving.

For fans of Julia Quinn, A Night Like This is a must read. If you’ve yet to read one of her books, the Smythe-Smith Musicale featured at the beginning of this book will make you want to go back and read… well, all of her books. The Musicale is a staple of the Quinn novels.

View all my reviews